Public Assets Institute > Policy Areas > Family Economic Security > Workers in eight counties can get disaster unemployment insurance

Workers in eight counties can get disaster unemployment insurance

Map showing 8 counties eligible for Federal DUA.

In the hardest hit parts of Vermont, flood recovery will take some time. But the federal disaster declaration for Caledonia, Chittenden, Lamoille, Orange, Rutland, Washington, Windham, and Windsor counties makes resources available immediately.

Federal disaster unemployment assistance (DUA) will cover Vermonters living, working, or scheduled to work in those counties who lost work as a result of the flooding. Unlike traditional unemployment insurance, DUA also covers independent contractors, the self-employed, and agricultural workers. Applicants must file for traditional unemployment first, within a month of becoming eligible. The program is being administered by the Vermont Department of Labor.

Workers receive roughly 58 percent of lost wages up to a cap. Those who earn more than $64,000 receive a maximum weekly benefit of $705, while those earning minimum wage receive $305 per week.

As climate-related disasters become more common, it’s worth asking how the state can fill the gaps to ensure that all Vermonters are able to care for themselves and their families as they recover.


Jobless claims chart The number of Vermonters filing for unemployment benefits ticked up in June, after remaining low throughout the year. But the unemployment rate was still below 2 percent. The effects of the recent floods on jobs and unemployment are not yet reflected in the numbers, but jobless claims in the affected areas are expected to rise in the coming months.July 21 BLS Data





PDF Version